Hotel 1231 is situated in the very heart of Toruń’s Old Town, a UNESCO World Heritage site, within a walking distance from the Old Town Hall and the Philadelphia Boulevard, a wharf located on the right bank of the Vistula River, which is also the town’s most popular walking route.
Located in the immediate vicinity of the remaining relics of the Toruń Castle, with the Struga Toruńska stream flowing along its medieval red brick walls, Hotel 1231 has achieved a landmark status in Toruń. Its convenient location makes it a preferred choice for tourists and business travelers alike.
The Hotel has its own guarded parking lot with 35 parking spaces located approximately 100 m away, as well as five extra parking spaces with security cameras located immediately by the entrance.
Sitting on the Vistula River and the birthplace of the famous astronomer Nicolaus Copernicus, Toruń is one of the most enchanting destinations in the north of Poland. One of its best recognized trademarks is also traditional gingerbread, a favorite snack of the famous 19th century composer Frédéric Chopin.
The superb panorama of Toruń’s Old Town sitting on the right-hand bank of the Vistula River, recognized as one of Poland’s Seven Wonders, is a source of pride for Toruń. Toruń is a place where the past and present are interwoven and where science, arts and culture are engaged in an ongoing conversation. Walking its evocative Old Town, you become immediately immersed in the cultural heritage of Europe. We invite you to visit and experience it first hand.
Our guests often wonder about the origin of the Hotel’s name.
In 1226, the Duke Konrad I of Masovia invited knights of the military religious Order of Brothers of the German House of Saint Mary in Jerusalem, commonly referred to as the Teutonic Order, to settle in the Polish lands under his rule (the Chełmno Land) and help fight Prussian tribes that were raiding them. The first troop that arrived comprised only two knights! In 1230, they were joined by five more knight-brothers, led by one Hermann von Balk. In July or August of the same year, they settled in a tiny outpost on the left-hand bank of the Vistula River donated by Duke Konrad, which they called Vogelsang, a bird’s song in German. As early as 1231, the knights crossed the river and on its right-hand bank founded a small stronghold around a large oak tree, which survives today as the village of Stary Toruń.
Toruń was granted municipal privileges in 1233 when it was a vibrant Slavic settlement under Teutonic rule. It was the Teutonic knights who built the Toruń Castle, whose main body was constructed from 1275 to 1300. The buildings of Hotel 1231 sit in the Castle’s former outer bailey, which housed a number of producing, commercial, and other facilities necessary to support the economic life and other day-to-day activities of the Castle’s residents. These included the flour mill, erected in the 13th century, whose oldest, eastern part survives to this day.
Over the course of its long history, the mill was repurposed as a bakery, warehouse, and, following conversion in 1907, tenement house, a function it retained until the 2000s. Since completion of a major restoration project in 2008, it has served as Hotel 1231.
The Hotel’s other building is also closely linked to the remaining relics of the Toruń Castle. Its oldest parts date to the 14th century when it was used as the Castle’s infirmary, or hospital. Both buildings have been recently connected by an underground passageway and together comprise Hotel 1231.
The newly expanded complex is slated to open at the begining of 2021.
Great location of the hotel, high standard at an affordable price, friendly and professional service. I would highly recommend.
In one word, it is impossible to describe - a wonderful atmosphere, great location, delight for the palate and what you can feel the most is the service in the restaurant ... gives you positive energy along with a wonderful breakfast for the whole day.